Monday, July 28, 2014
Events & Awards
Events Calendar
2014 Mid-Year Meeting
2014 Annual Conference
Ron Storms Award
Innovative Technology Awards
Ron Storms Award


To recognize significant volunteer contributions in the area of electronic business in the agriculture industry.

Information on Ron Storms

Ron Storms was a prominent committee chairman and member of numerous industry organizations including RAPID (an AgGateway predecessor organization) and the Fertilizer Institute (TFI.) He had a distinguished career at CF Industries starting in 1966. Ending his career as an eCommerce Manager, Ron was responsible for the development and coordination of all electronic commerce activities for CF Industries. His accomplishments were abundant, but above all his influence and guidance will be missed by his many friends, since his passing in 2002. Ron counted his greatest blessings as his wife Nancy and their two sons.

Award Criteria

The Ron Storms Memorial Award recognizes distinguished individual efforts in the promotion of electronic standards and protocols in agri-business. This achievement award is given annually to a member of AgGateway, and is awarded at the Annual Conference. Evaluation is based on the characteristics that Ron exemplified including: volunteerism, integrity, reliability, selflessness, character, courage and sincerity, in connection with efforts that reflect quality, productivity and innovation in furthering eBusiness in  agriculture.

Nomination Process

Any person can make a nomination. Ideally, information provided should include:
  • A concise statement on the impact the nominee's volunteer efforts have had on agri-business
  • Brief biographical sketch including, name, address, title, position, company, and other awards and honors.
  • Other volunteer activities.
  • Two letters of recommendation from industry representatives.

Please use the nomination form posted in the right column on this page, to complete a nomination.

Award Description/Presentation

The award is presented at the Annual Conference in one of the general sessions.


Nominations will be reviewed and voted on by a panel consisting of the past three award winners.

For questions, contact Dawn Ellis at


Andrew Jeremiah, 2012 Ron Storms Award Recipient

The 2012 winner of the Ron Storms Memorial Award is Andrew Jeremiah, B2B IT Lead Analyst at Monsanto. “Andrew has accomplished a lot, but what stands out is his attitude – his passion and joy in these efforts,” said the 2011 winner Bruce Blitch, Global CIO at Tessenderlo Group, in presenting the award. “In his nomination letters – and from our personal experiences – we’ve learned about his strong work ethic, technical knowledge and passion, and also his strong sense of volunteerism and the betterment of the entire ag community.” Andrew has worked on numerous councils and task forces for AgGateway and its predecessor organizations. He has provided leadership and technical contributions within various Crop Protection and Seed Connectivity projects, for the Standards and Guidelines Committee, and in improvements to the AGIIS directory. These contributions have helped the ag industry build a foundation to support the expansion of standardized electronic connectivity.

Bruce Blitch, 2011 Ron Storms Award Recipient
The 2011 recipient, Bruce Blitch, CIO of Tessenderlo-Kerley Inc., has been involved with the CIO Roundtable, RAPID and AgGateway for a good number of years. Instrumental in not only becoming involved himself, he was also able get his entire organization to realize the benefits of belonging and participating in AgGateway. His staff became involved in many task forces, committees, the Management Team and projects under his leadership. As a member of AgGateway, his company successfully completed the CNC project; Bruce has been a Chairperson of the Crop Nutrition Council. As one of the "Founding Fathers" of AgGateway and serving as the board chair during the early years, Bruce has been instrumental in the organization since its very beginning. AgGateway was honored to name him as 2011's Ron Storms Award Recipient.

Home   |   About Us   |   eConnectivity   |   Events & Awards   |   News   |   Working Groups   |   Join Us
Copyright 2014 by AgGateway Corporation