To recognize some of the hardest-working volunteers in the organization, plus one company, who have made recent, tangible results in the mission to promote, enable and expand eAgriculture.


Each of the council chairs is given the opportunity to identify a person on their council who within the past year has demonstrated outstanding work toward the goal of making real, tangible progress in terms of connections in the industry. Council leadership does not have to make an award if there is no candidate to recognize in a particular year. The awards are presented each year during the annual conference; they are presented within council sessions and highlighted during a general session.


  • Recipient must an AgGateway member (i.e., belong to a company that is a member or have AgGateway individual membership).
  • Recipient must be a member of that particular council.
  • The award is presented for volunteer work done within the past year (roughly November to November, since the award is presented at the annual conference).

AgGateway in Action Company Award

In addition to the above awards, the Operational Management Board recognizes one company to receive the award. Each council chair and vice chair are asked to nominate companies in early fall; the board then discussed and votes on a winner in advance of the annual conference.

2016 Recipients

AgGateway in Action Individual Recipients

Jody Costa, Marketing Director with Barcoding Inc., presented by the Allied Providers Council

Randy Fry, Data Process and Information Systems Manager of Ceres Solutions, presented by the Ag Retailers Council

Christine Dingman, 2016 AgGateway Vice-Chair, presented by the Crop Nutrition Council

Dave Surber, Owner of Headwaters Business Solutions Inc., presented by the Crop Protection Council

Mary Tangen, Product Manager at DTN/The Progressive Farmer, presented by the Grain & Feed Council

Jeremy W. Wilson, Technology Specialist at Crop IMS, presented by the Precision Ag Council

Marcia Rhodus, Retail Business Solutions Specialist at Monsanto, presented by the Seed Council

Donald Green, Systems Analyst at Crop Production Services, presented by the Specialty Chemical Council

2016 Company Award: Key Cooperative and ACS

Two companies, Key Cooperative and ACS, were recognized by the board of directors with an AgGateway in Action Award as having made significant contributions in 2016 toward advancing eBusiness in agriculture. They were praised in particular for their leadership on seed connectivity projects at AgGateway that have greatly benefited the industry.

2016 President's Award: Ben Craker

In addition, President & CEO Wendy Smith gave the 2016 President’s Award to Ben Craker, AGCO Product Manager for Data, Standards & Partnerships. Smith noted that Craker has done outstanding work this year in ways that support agricultural connectivity both domestically and internationally, and with companies throughout the agricultural supply chain to the grower.

Craker is active on AgGateway’s precision ag teams and the ADAPT Committee. He has made diligent efforts this year to strengthen communication and engagement between AgGateway and other standards organizations. He also represents AgGateway on the AgGateway Global Network Board of Directors.

Thank you and congratulations to this year's recipients!

2015 Recipients

2015 Company Award: Software Solutions Integrated

The board recognized that SSI has been a steadfast supporter AgGateway; more than a dozen SSI professionals have participated in AgGateway activities. The team of SSI regularly provides valuable participation in councils, working groups and projects. They are recognized as dependable team members that deliver results either by being a silent contributor or taking lead roles in initiatives. Specifically in 2015, SSI has been very valuable in the Grain Council, Communications Committee and SPADE3 Project.

2015 AgGateway in Action Individual Recipients

Charlie Nuzzolo
Allied Providers Council
Ag Retailers Council

Seth Petersen, Wilbur-Ellis
Crop Protection Council

Pam Rincker, Software Solutions Integrated
Grain & Feed Council

Joe Tevis, TopCon
Precision Ag Council